Expanding the Girls School

In May of 2004, we conducted another assessment of the Al Botoma Girls school and met with the Principal and school staff. 

Al Botoma is located about 7 miles north of Camp Specicher; which is located north of Tikrit.

After our convoy arrived at Al Botoma and set up security; my staff and I walked thru the school to get a visual of the conditions – average for an Iraqi school, woefully inadequate by American or Western European standards.

The biggest issue, aside from the lack of running water, inconsistent electric supply and lack of school technology, was the over crowding- insufficient space for all the female students. 

There was some discussion between the Iraqi school leadership and my team; the Principal wanted far more then what we could provide, especially since I did not have a budget.  The Principal’s request made sense, the limiting factor was money. 

In the end, we agreed to add 4 new class rooms plus a new bathroom and stucco and repaint the rest of the school interior. Total cost was $30,000, a bargain price in any developing country.  I went into the school assessment with no money- my credibility was on the line.  My civil affairs construction money came from the 2nd Brigade Combat Team’s civil affairs budget.  

After SGM Gamache and I completed the required paper work, a Scope of Work and getting 3 construction contractor bids, the school construction packet was complete. My team and I had to convoy from Camp Speicher to FOB Danger in Tikrit and beg the 2nd Brigade Combat Team [2BCT], 1st infantry Division’s [1ID] Civil Affairs office for the money. 

After a few weeks the funding was approved by the 2BCT, 1st infantry Division’s Civil Affairs office.  The best part was neither SGM Gamache nor I had to sign for any money; the contractor went directly to Tikrit, FOB Danger to get paid; one less worry for me and a few less risky convoys to Tikrit for the team and I.

During the construction project I had two very significant and real concerns: the quality of workmanship/materials and having the contractor walk off with the down payment of $5,000. 

I heard horror stories of shoddy workmanship, substandard materials and contractor walk-offs which were all too common in during Iraq’s reconstruction. For an Iraqi, $5,000 was a good very annual salary, so if you can make a quick score like that, why not?  At that time, 2004, the Iraqi court system was broke and the Iraqi Police were fighting for their lives against insurgent attacks on their road check points and police stations. Hunting down a criminal who stole from the US Army was not their priority.  Complicating matters, I was unable to visit the job site on a daily basis; if the contractor walked off with the down payment or used substandard construction supplies, it would be very difficult for me to catch them. 

Lucky I had none of those problems. We visited the area every 10 days or so, not regular enough to establish a pattern, but not so infrequent the contractor would take off with the money.   

In the end, the Girls School reconstruction project turned out better then the construction project completed for the Boys school.  The Boys school was not my project, and I was not able to find out what US governmental agency was responsible. The contractor was not well supervised and did a poor job. 

The Boys School principal knew it and he looked to me for help, which I was unable to do.