Why are some military veterans uncomfortable discussing their service?

First- no one knows how they will conduct themselves in a ‘combat’ situation: fight, flight or freeze.

There are many reason:

– Their service was nothing special and they are embarrassed. “I never went outside the wire, but know a few service members who did…” or “the conference room can’t manage itself…”

– Their service was very scary/dangerous and the service members are traumatized. “Then the enemy breached the wire, our ammo was low and we fixed bayonets…”

-Their service might have been less then honorable. “I hid in the HUMMV, while my battle buddies returned fire, until the shooting stopped…” or “Yeah, I was court-martialed, but I am innocent!!”

-They are private experiences and are kept to themselves.

-They think civilians cannot understand what they went through.

Thank you for reading.

gamache